Summer’s End

Wow, where did the summer go? My intention was to focus on writing weekly. Unfortunately, travels and family reunions kept me away from the computer. And now school is about to be back in session. For me, summer always means family because it’s the only time I get to see my extended family who live on the east coast. That also means I look forward to enjoying cooler weather. However, I will say in the last few years, the hot temps seemed to follow me to the east coast. But, I will not complain because we had perfect beach weather the whole time. As for this post, I will devote it to some of the lovely plants I had the pleasure of viewing and/or partaking while at the coast.

One of my favorite plants of summer is the rosa rugosa. To me rosa rugosa and the seashore and sand dunes go hand in hand.

We took a wonderful trip to the Maine coast and Portland Head Lighthouse. A fascinating phenomenon are the cairns that people erected along the shore near the lighthouse.

The hydrangea were absolutely gorgeous. And, we enjoyed fresh blueberries picked right from the backyard.  Of course, you cannot go to Maine without eating lobster.

I am looking forward to cooler weather and more writing, more gardening.

Leave a Reply

