Venison-Sausage Stuffed Zucchini

So, I just had to try this sausage stuffed zucchini boat recipe this evening. Only, I made some slight adjustments to the recipe. For those that like venison, then this recipe is for you. We love venison at our house, and a big thanks to my Hubby for keeping our freezer well stalked. Where this recipe calls for 8 ounces of hot Italian sausage, I substituted it with venison. The combination of the sweet Italian sausage and venison gives it a wonderful flavor. I actually make the most delicious meatballs combining sweet Italian sausage and venison. I will have to share that recipe one of these days. The other modifications I made involved the tomatoes and mozzarella cheese. Instead of cooking the chopped tomatoes with the stuffing mix, I placed them on top of the stuffed zucchini followed by slivers of fresh mozzarella cheese instead of shredded mozzarella.  I followed the rest of the recipe, and the results were mouth-watering. The stuffed zucchini is a meal all by itself. However, I added some roasted red skin potatoes and onions from the garden and salad to make this a very satisfying meal.

stuffed zucchini

Leave a Reply

