Salad on the Fly

Tending to the vegetable garden today, I couldn’t help but partake. I have an abundance of lettuce and various greens. It’s times like these when I haven’t had time to stop at the grocery store that I feel blessed to have my own fresh veggies. Today, I whipped up on the fly a quick and tasty salad with just minimal ingredients. Of course, salads are by their nature a mishmash of selective ingredients, so here’s my creative salad for one:

photo(13)

Ingredients:

Salad
1 cup salad greens torn to bite-sized pieces
4 scallions chopped
1 carrot shredded
2 TBSP almond slivers
1 slice Swiss Cheese chopped into small pieces
1 to 2 TBSP aged Asiago cheese shredded
5 to 7 Kalamata olives or one dill pickle chopped

Dressing
2 TBSP olive juice or dill pickle juice or Balsamic Vinegar (either one of these tastes great in a dressing)
1 to 2 TBSP olive oil
Salt and Pepper to taste

 

 

Leave a Reply

