All’s a Bloom

What a long and busy week! It was wonderful to be able to spend most of the day, today, in the garden. I am so happy spring has finally arrived. Because we had such a mild winter, I’ve gotten a head start on spring planting. And, while we had a couple of freeze warnings in March, I was able to successfully protect my tomatoes, peppers, and basil plants with hay or bell jars. So, in celebration of the coming growing season, I am sharing some of my favorite photos I’ve snapped over the last couple of years.

I love my sunflowers.  I always grow them in the same bed as my cucumbers, spaced so they aid in trellising of the cucumber plants. Plus, they are a magnet for pollinators like bees and butterflies.

Flowers are a special companion to the vegetable garden, whether wild flowers or potted patio gems. I make sure I have them sprinkled about the vegetable garden not only for visual appeal but also because you can never have enough of those beneficial little buggers like bees, butterflies, lady bugs, and even hummingbirds flitting from bloom to bloom.

April showers bring may flowers and hopefully another abundant crop of tomatoes. This is one of many tomato harvests last year.

And, sometimes nature does have a sense of humor.  Life in the garden is always an adventure. I am so looking forward to this year’s growing season.

One thought on “All’s a Bloom

Leave a Reply

