Garden Fairies Hard at Work

I’m not sure if it’s El Nino or the garden fairies hard at work, but the crocus and hyacinth are pushing up early, and spring is definitely in the air. So, along with all my garden prep work, I decided some fun was in order. Last summer, my granddaughter and I visited an island on the east coast that was inhabited with fairy houses made with just items found in the woods. Of course, we could not pass up the opportunity of build the best fairy house ever. Needless to say our walk in nature that day turned into a creative adventure.

rustic

My granddaughter often wonders about that rustic fairy house and hopes it still stands, warm and cozy for a very special little pixie. So, as I dug out garden tools from the shed, I happened upon a broken planter. I’ve seen several fairy homes online built out of broken clay pots. Instead of tossing this one out, the fairy house came to mind. The next thing I knew, the grandbabies and I headed to my favorite place to purchase cheap craft supplies: the local dollar store. There we collected most of the items needed to build our very own garden fairy house. This project took several hours and a lot of good quality time with my girls, who worked together and made all the decorative decisions while I built the foundation and structural features. The creative juices were flowing with the girls digging out their marbles, shells, and colored rocks they’ve collected over the years.  I added a couple of succulent plants and voila! Luckily, we built it in a protected garden area in my backyard, and so far rains and stormy weather have left it relatively untouched.  The hardest part to this project was packing the soil in a way that it didn’t fall apart as we made the steps or planted the moss and plants.  keeping the soil damp is the trick needed to be successful.  The thing about a project like this is the sky’s the limit when it comes to imagination. It truly is an inexpensive, fun, kid-friendly project.

Leave a Reply

